The first smartphone was released in 1992. By then year 2020 there may be as many as 2.5 billion smartphones in the world. The use of smartphones is decreasing our collective intelligence because we are reliant on the technology and not our own minds. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although the first smartphone was invented in 1992; after almost three decades, there had been two and a half billion smartphones worldwide. Today, as people are fully dependent on technology instead of their brains, the rising use of cell phones is declining the overall intellectual abilities of users. I completely agree with this point of view and will prove this argument with analytical reasonings and descriptive examples in this essay. To commence with, the dependence on smartphones encourages people to do quick calculations on the mobile phone calculators rather than troubling their minds. A recent study by Cambridge University has proven that the mental capabilities of students to perform mathematical problems by their brains is deteriorating significantly. The main reason for their rusting cognitive skills is the excessive use of smartphone calculators. Additionally, people ’s ability to recall and remember things is adversely influenced because they use smartphones overly. For instance, there is a massive number of smartphone applications to list and store things and ideas such as colour notes. These applications are used by people as a memory bank and they no longer remember things which are important for the proper development of their brains. As a result, people perform everything even household chores - for example,making groceries lists and shopping lists - with the assistance of mobile phone applications. In conclusion, digital versions of mobile phones have made mankind totally reliant on them; consequently, the mental ability of problem-solving is rapidly reducing in people. In my opinion, the trend of possessing personal cell phones is negatively affecting the mathematical capabilities and memory of people.