Many people believe that cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among wider population?

Numerous people are of the opinion that riding a bicycle is not only beneficial to well-being but has a less damaging effect on the environment. However, the use of this medium of transportation is still not widely accepted. This essay will address ignorance; as a major reason why it is still rarely being used and discuss the role of education and promotion of public awarenes about the value of cycling as a means of transportation in encouraging its use. Firstly, so many people are reluctant to consider using bicycles as a means to move around, because they are ignorant of their health benefits. This is because; it is only in the parlance of academia that such discussions are being considered. It is due to this ignorance that, a large number of people still consider it socially unacceptable, and even childish to move around by bicycle. If people are aware that cycling can help to improve their cardiovascular functions, and that it does not produce toxic gaseous waste which can be harmful to the environment unlike motorbikes and cars; the majority will opt for this as a means to move around, especially within the local community. To mitigate against this problem, the government needs to educate the public about the potential benefits of this form of transportation to their health, as well as the environment. This can be achieved through the promotion of public awareness through the media such as newspapers, television, and radio stations. In addition, they can further encourage the masses to consider this option of transportation by providing bicycle road paths and subsidizing the price of bicycles for potential buyers. By doing these, people are motivated to procure and use bicycles to move around and as a form of physical exercise. To conclude, one fundamental cause of why fewer people are given to cycling is ignorance, and the onus lies in the government to educate people about the health and environmental benefits from its use. It is believed that with intensive public awareness campaigns, more and more people will adopt cycling as a form of exercise and a means of transportation.