People can perform everyday tasks, such as shopping and banking as well as business transactions, without meeting other people face-to-face because of technology. What are the effects of this on individual and society as a whole?

The advent of technology has brought about many comforts to people's lives, especially with handling routine business activities and even bank transactions without having to run around physically to achieve these basic daily tasks. This essay will analyze some of the implications of this modern development on one; as an individual, as well as the larger society. For the individual, technology has helped to ease the normal stress associated with the running of daily businesses, and make life more comfortable for people. This means that, with the possibility of the various online shopping platforms, and the array of online payment options made feasible by a plethora of online banking services; it is easier to avoid traveling through long distances, sometimes being trapped in stressful hold-up; to visit shopping malls. Thus, by the punch of a few keys on one's tablet or mobile device, one can conveniently make complex transactions, and even do an online survey, by surfing through various virtual merchants through their interface. For instance, the burden of having to go through a long queue in the bank, to make a deposit or withdrawal is circumvented by the opportunity of internet technology. The society also is affected by this advancement in technology. One very positive effect is the ability to network every part of the community together, even the remote areas, via the internet, so that everybody can have a taste of development in the larger world. So even, in a place with a poor road network, as long as such place is reached by internet facilities, the business transactions can easily take place. However, the bad side of technology on the society on society is also noteworthy. It is making people lazy lately; people are no longer doing exercise as before and are adopting a sedentary lifestyle. No wonder a high rise in the incidence of obesity in recent times. In conclusion, technology has brought great beneficial effects on individuals and society, in that it has helped to fast-track daily business activities and make society better integrated. It is hoped that, if people can guide against the tendency of getting lazy, by relying excessively on technology, the society will be better for it.