Films and computer games which contain violence are very popular. Some people believe that they have a negative effect on society and so should be banned. Other people, however, say that they are just harmless and help people to relax. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been an increase in the popularity of movies showcasing highly aggressive and violent scenes, as well as downloadable online and mobile games displaying combative or violent actions. Some people have criticized these violence-promoting media as being harmful to the community and as such, should be prohibited, while others have considered them as being innocuous. This essay agrees with the former proponents, that believe these violent media can have a devastating consequence on society. The essay will discuss both opinions. On the one hand, violence promoting games or films can directly promote violent behavior which can, in turn, increase societal tension and crisis. Furthermore, it makes people be more criminal-minded, by affecting their psychological perception of things. For example, a growing number of studies have shown that watching a horror movie that entails a lot of horrible scenes or even playing a game where one has to shoot people to gain points; has a way of making one be desensitized to the harmful nature the violent actions; making one sees such actions as not being actually bad, and overtimes, one can even be found engaging in such criminal acts because of their judgments being psychologically impaired. On the other hand, others who view these violent media, as not necessarily harmful also have a valid point. To them watching a film or even playing games is entirely fun; that is, the events portrayed are not real and are only a form of entertainment. More so, movies that only display non-violent scenes are less likely to be interesting, and even far from reality. Similarly, many games will become more boring, if such violent displays are selectively removed. In conclusion, while violent media depict what is more realistic, by so doing, more likely to be interesting, the tendency to cause an astronomical rise in criminal activities and violent actions is real and should not be ignored. I believe they should be outrightly banned.