A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefit cities rather than rural areas. What problems can this cause? How might these problems be reduced?

Urbanized areas have been more benefited from the improvement in the living conditions than those who live in less developed areas, such as countryside. The purpose of this essay is to discuss some of the issues this might cause, as well as potential solutions to help in their reduction. There are some problems that end up happening due to the noticeable difference in the level of material comfort between the regions inside a country. First, many are moving from rural to urban areas seeking for a better life. For instance, people from different states in Brazil move to São Paulo seeking for a better job, but sometimes they cannot find one or have a condition to go back, increasing homelessness. In addition, another issue is that inequalities become more prominent. Thus, wealthy people will accumulate more money and goods, consequently having more access to comfort and technology, while others are just trying to survive. Nevertheless, a few actions may help to decrease the impact of the issues mentioned above. The government could invest more in the development of people who live rural areas, in order to increase their opportunities. For example, offering technical courses and creating programs to help them find a job. Besides, more jobs could be created through the encouragement to companies to expand to isolated regions, such as subside constructions of industries and stores in small cities. Therefore, people would be lees likely to move to downtown. In conclusion, more migration to metropoles has been happening, and better conditions may not be found, increasing issues such as amount of homeless people. Also, the differences between social classes are becoming more evident and some ways to reduce those problems are giving chances for people to get qualified and increase job opportunities in rural areas. Therefore the region could develop faster, improving way of living and migration to cities would be reduced.