Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the number of students choosing to take a year out between finishing school and starting their respective university to travel and gain work experience increases, the benefits of this non-academic life can't be neglected. This essay will discuss the multifold benefits of such a trend using arguments and examples, however, I strongly agree that such a phenomenon is certainly beneficial for students. Firstly, one of the main positive upsides of taking a year off to focus on non-academic experiences such as jobs and travels is that these young individuals can create precious memories with their friends and families. This is because the majority of individuals in higher education cannot afford the luxury of travelling to different countries due to countless assignments and exams that must be prepared. For instance, higher education students are less likely to travel or work while receiving education. Hence, young people can create precious experiences and memories by taking a year off before joining higher education. In addition, another positive upside of such trends is that individuals are able to decide their course through such time off. Most high schoolers do not have a clear perception of what they want to study in university. Thus, by participating in non-academic life, they are able to get a grasp of what they want to study. For example, the majority of former students were able to decide their course by taking a gap year between high school and university. As a result, taking a break can help decide the course they want to study. In conclusion, the number of people choosing to take a year out to pursue non-academic life such as finding a job or travel is increasing. All above else, such a trend comes with significant benefits that contribute to the future of students. I strongly agree that such a phenomenon is extremely beneficial.