Today single-use products are still very common. What are the problems associated with this? What are some possible solutions?

The convenience of the single-use products has promoted the using these products over the world regardless of influences relating to health and the environment. Since this is a serious issue, it is essential to change attitudes and implement policies to reduce the dangers. To begin with, disposable products could pose a threat to the environment. With the increase of population, single-use wastes such as take-away food packaging, plastic straw and so on, will wind up in the ever-increasing number of landfills and contribute to soil pollution. In the UK, for example, over 20 million tonnes of waste is buried while less than 1 percent of that amount is actively recycled. In the big cities, they are tossed in the street clog drains and eventually find their way to the sea and entangle marine life. Another problem is that it will be extremely detrimental to human health. In fact, to maximise the profit, the businesses could use the toxic chemicals to produce nylon bags, for example; therefore, it causes cancer, hormone disruption if they leach toxins into food and drink. In order to combat these issues, the first step would be educating the general public, especially children about the facts of single-use products. Add the environmental curriculum in schools is necessary to equip students with much-needed skills and knowledge to protect the environment. Hand in hand with this, the authorities could reduce the tax for the local shops and restaurants as a reward for stopping supplying disposable items to their customers. For instance, McDonald’s is a role model because it has started to use paper straws replacing plastic ones in a restaurant chain in the UK. In conclusion, it seems that the environmental and health issues that disposable products bring could disappear in the future through a combination of education and policy.