You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Arguably, in tertiary level education, some institutions are lecturing through the internet these days, being the apprenticeship process thoroughly online. Personally, I believe that it is a negative development since it raises doubts about the seriousness of the proceeding. Albeit, it has its advantages. This essay will shed light on both sides of the view and provide anecdotal evidence to prove the arguments. On the one hand, online lecturing is not an efficient method of knowledge transfer. In other words, this learning procedure left an acquaintance gap on students due to the shortfall of control in testing, laboratories practices and not less relevant the interaction among students. For instance, a teacher finds it a hardship to assess his students in a controlled environment as well as there is a lack of guarantee that the sophomores have completed the examination mechanism without any interference from others. As a result, the entire process is undermined. Furthermore, it is the overriding reason for many renowned Universities across the planet are still resolute in providing hundred per cent online training. On the other hand, online teaching is less financial resources spending. Because of the apprenticeship process being made without travelling and less material costing, some institutions align with the method. In Brasil, a four-year online course costs approximately 4 times less than a face-to-face course, for example. It is reported by the Sao Paulo Magazine. Hence, many managers prefer these courses since they are less costly. In conclusion, notwithstanding some benefits resulting from the online apprenticeship method, it undoubtedly does not equip the student with the necessary knowledge to compete in this tough employment market. Therefore, I still believe that it is a negative development. In addition, I recommend Universities managers eschew this sort of teaching in high-level education.