Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problem than benefits. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s world, a part of the population wants their nations to be the home of an international sporting event while some claim that the drawbacks that major competition bring are too much to handle. This essay believes that although there are indeed some disadvantages that one’s countries should consider for hosting such an event, the merits seem way more rewarding. On the one hand, to be able to open the program on an international scale, the hosting nation would have to do a lot of preparation, and it would cost them an abundant amount of money, which is not something that some developing countries are able to pull off easily. Moreover, it would require a huge amount of land to construct the facilities and amenities needed for the competition, and even when the event end, those sporting centres would still be there and considered unnecessary by their own inhabitants. There are several cases like this around the world, take Qatar for instance, this nation is famous for many unused enormous stadiums, which make the local authorities have a hard time planning what to do with them. On the other hand, there are numerous merits that can not be neglected. First and foremost, hosting an international sporting event is one of the best ways to raise the profile of one’s nation. With such activities, the country would be well-known by the world so they would experience an influx of tourists and media, which benefit their economy significantly. To be the host of a major ceremony like the Olympics would also be a reason for the government to renovate their existing sporting venues and provide a tremendous boost for the improvement of infrastructure in the city where the event is taking place. For example, due to the World Cup in Russia 4 years ago, many towns of the country had improved noticeably, resulting in higher living standards for the citizens living there. To conclude, I believe the merits of hosting an international scale sporting event would overweigh the drawbacks that it may bring.