Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects this have on animal life and human society?

One major problem that environmental scientists are bothered about is the contamination of water bodies such as rivers, lakes, and seas. This essay will first discuss the inappropriate disposal of domestic and industrial waste into the aquatic environment as a fundamental cause of this water pollution, and then analyze the inimical effect this practice can have on human and aquatic lives. A number of factors have been considered as responsible for water pollution. One of such factors is the indiscriminate practice of dumping waste on water beds. by individuals and large industries. This is because; in many developing nations, there is yet no proper organized waste management scheme to coordinate effectively the disposal of waste. Besides, there is no firm legal provision that guides against improper waste disposal by large manufacturing companies. Consequently, most individuals and factories find it convenient to dispose of their waste into the riverbeds or sea. For instance, liquid waste from large factories is increasingly being dumped into the sea on daily basis. Another cause of pollution of the aquatic habitats is the effect of oil spillage from petrochemical industries, especially in the riverine areas. In the process of transporting oil through the sea borders across major cities, oil tends to spill on the water bodies with devastating consequences on aquatic lives. Considering the effect of this pollution on the lives of humans and aquatic organisms, one major problem is the direct harmful effects this chemical waste has on the fishes and other aquatic life. Some of them died immediately from the toxic effect of these waste products, while others tend to accumulate these wastes in their systems, and pass it down the food chain to man, who happen to be one of the final consumers at the end of the food chain. The chronic complications of the build-up of such toxic chemicals in the human system are worrisome. Furthermore, the effect of oil spillage on riverine communities, destroying the lands for the local farmers; and even taking away their jobs is also a concern. To conclude, one important cause of water pollution is improper domestic and industrial waste disposal in water bodies; and the dire consequence on aquatic and human lives cannot be under-estimated. It is believed that in the future, with public enlightenment on the bad consequences of dumping waste on water bodies, they aquatic life can be better preserved.