Many people say that they believe it is important to protect the environment but make no effort to do anything about it themselves. Why do you think this is the case? What action do you think individuals should take to protect the environment?

There is countless information on global warming, but giving action might be a tiring and long process. For this reason, only a few individuals are integrated to act for the environment’s protection. In fact, there are several methods we can do to contribute to this action. As the sea level rises and the temperature is fluctuating, people acknowledge that our planet is in critical times and for this matter, a number of communities share some information through some media. In contrast, giving effort to the green movement is a difficult and tiring activity. For instance, decluttering our clothes might take hours of our day and we will need to do it during the weekend when some people prefer resting to decluttering. Furthermore, the result of this process will not show up instantly, it takes years to centuries, and as a result, it is not an enjoyable activity for some individuals. Based on those facts, even though we realize taking care of our neighbourhood, sometimes we gave up along the process. Contributing to our environment can be started from a small effort that is begun by ourselves as an individual. Firstly, we can apply the 3R movement which is short of Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle. Again, recycling may not be an enjoyable activity, but if we can execute reducing and reusing, we will need to recycle less. Secondly, taking care of the energy usage in our home appliances might help as well. For example, turn off the lamp when not in use, turn off the water tap when we are brushing our teeth, etc. Thus, our small actions can slowly develop to be a habit. As part of a community, we can also contribute by forcing people in our community to join the action. Government and employers play a big role to rule a massive community. They can make a rule to force people, such as a rule to eat in company’s canteen where they do not need to use plastic for taking away food. Hence, people have no other way except to obey the rule. In conclusion, there are numerous ideas for saving our planet but acknowledging our environment’s problem is never enough. It is crucial to execute those ideas and begin them by giving a small effort yet consistent.