Some people believe that if a police force carries guns, this encourages higher level of violence in that society.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The police force was created to maintain law and order in the community. Therefore, the use of firearms by policemen to carry out this function could lead to disorderliness. I agree with this view because the presence of weapons could cause people to feel unsafe and guns can also make their way into the hands of criminals who can cause insecurity in the area. To begin with, the sight of a rifle in the hand of a policeman can be threatening to civilians. This is because the ordinary citizen walks around harmless and also expects security agents to appear friendly rather than intimidating. Moreover,some folks who have the phobia for AK-47 will be careful to avoid a law enforcement agent who carries a gun even if the mission was to investigate a matter. Consequently, this can affect the public understanding of policing since some people will see them as enemies. For example, my friend told me about how two policemen visited his home with a search warrant. Unfortunately, they were also armed with machine guns and this cause his son of eight years to suddenly develop panic attacks. Furthermore, when a policeman walks around with a rifle, it becomes easy for such weapon to enter the wrong hand. This is possible because some criminals are often looking for avenues to steal these guns from policemen to aid their operations. As a result, many weapons in police custody have remained unaccounted for. As such, the public is exposed to serious danger. For example, a recent security report in my state suggested that some of the firearms found with arm robbers, actually belonged to the police force. In conclusion, I agree with the view that the bearing of firearms by the police force could lead to life-threatening clashes, because guns can create fear in youngsters and rifles can be stolen by notorious criminals, thereby putting the public in danger.