In some countries children take up paid jobs during the summer vacation. Some people feel that this amounts to child labour. Others argue that summer jobs help children learn valuable lessons. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often believed that children having summer jobs should be blamed for the risk of child labour but some people are optimistic about this as they can be valuable opportunities for them to acquire various skills and knowledge. I partially support the latter since summer jobs can offer a stimulating experience regardless of the fact that children are often employed to fill the shortage of the workforce. On the one hand, children working during a summer vacation gain benefits as they are encouraged to acquire different techniques and intelligence, which are helpful in real life. In other words, those who have the experience of working are able to expand their understanding, which is not usually taught at school. For instance, children working in an agricultural field are able to understand the use of special equipment as well as a certain procedure of seeding in addition to the general knowledge of farming. Thus, the actual experience of working allows them to obtain precious skills and knowledge that may be passed down for generations, increasing their curiosity and motivation for learning. On the other hand, children having a job during a vacation are often criticized since they are often employed due to the shortage of workforce. Indeed, they often face an overwhelming physical workload as people need more workers to increase their profits. For example, they usually work under poor conditions including an intense heat during summer and insufficient rest as adults put more priority on their own benefits. Thus, the experience of working does not always have a positive effect on them as they are often regarded as a convenient workforce who are employed temporarily without their health and happiness being secured. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that summer jobs are beneficial to children as they are able to access valuable information which is restrictive to a certain workplace, which boosts their eagerness to brush up their skills and intelligence. However, they are often employed only to provide the services employers want, which disappoints children.