Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some specialists maintain that students will benefit tremendously if they can acquire another foreign language from an early age. From my perspective, I totally agree with this opinion and I will present my essay below. On the one hand, from the human brain developing aspect, the earlier a new language is learned, the more acceptable and digestible it is for children since they have not developed a fixed mode of thinking about languages when they are at a very young age. To elucidate it, people are easily influenced by their native dialect when starting a second language, such as pronunciation rules and sentence structures. However, such a situation can be largely avoided by early education, which contributes to a high level of study efficiency. In contrast, a sense of frustration might be obtained when it comes to secondary education. On the other hand, although it is advantageous for children to study a foreign language at primary school, higher study pressure would also be injected simultaneously. For instance, the main courses are the first language and math at the moment in the majority of primary schools, if factoring the second language into the curriculum with such addition, this will undoubtedly increase children’s academic burden and reduce their free time for extracurricular activities, such as playing sports or learning arts. Thus this might undermine their mentally or physically welfare. In conclusion, the cons outweigh the pros if children can acquire a new language from primary school. Otherwise, more effort would be acquired later on.