Not enough students around the world choose to study science. What are the reasons for these? What impact does this issue have on the society?

It is a commonly held belief that fewer pupils are not choosing to major in scientific fields. This can have several effects which will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, a narrow segment of societies around the globe has been able to apply for universities. A contributing factor for this phenomenon is the increasing tuition of top-notch educational establishments. Middle-class families whose parents perform blue-collar jobs are currently in debt due to the rising cost of living. Therefore, many are shifting to studying fields with lower fees, such as translations, psychology, and art. In addition to that, the majority of juveniles are nowadays interest-driven. They have a substantial desire to become entrepreneurs and start up their businesses in fields where can harness their skills instead. For example, a friend of mine is a brilliant baker. She decided to open a small pizza restaurant in 2019. It was a lucrative business witnessing great popularity and generating over SAR500,000 a year. With these causes in mind, what are the predicted impacts in the future? Several nations will not be able to keep abreast with the incremental advances of today’s world. There will be a pressing need for space and climate scientists, physicians, engineers, and more. A country that fails to provide a community with its necessities will be prompted to outsource talents. This shall impose financial pressure on the country’s expenditures and will fall short of investing in its developmental projects. What is more, artificial intelligence (AI) is now taking over some jobs, in computer science in particular. At the moment, AI can create various codes and carry out different programming within less amount of time, with error-free outcomes, and enhanced quality. In conclusion, pursuing academic, undergraduate degrees in scientific fields is of paramount importance. Whereas there might be no sufficient number of students who major in such disciplines, governments are required to act and address any rising issues to mitigate risks and prevent possible negative impacts in the future.