In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

Having a year after secondary school to work or travel has become a popular trend in many nations. While there are both benefits and drawbacks of that, I believe that this is far more advantageous. In my opinion, there is one main disadvantage of deciding to work or travel before University. Many young people may enjoy travelling too much which makes them reluctant to pursue their studies. For example, Melika is an Iranian girl who decided to travel to foreign countries After High school but now she has decided to stay in Peru for a long time and work rather than go to university. Therefore, although these young people would benefit from new and challenging experiences, the risk of leaving university is inevitable. On the other hand, there are many advantages of this trend. Firstly, young people who decided to do this would gain valuable experiences either social or professional. Moreover, this one year could be the best opportunity to make connections with others which may be helpful in their future life. For instance, they would get acquainted with a person who can hire them after graduation. Secondly, they are likely to become more independent in this way which also leads them to learn different skills such as financial management. Finally, there is a chance for those who still do not know what their goal is, to find out about it. In conclusion, deciding to work or travel for a year before attending University would be both beneficial and disadvantageous. However, I think the potential benefits outweigh the possible harms.