Without capital punishments (the health penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increases. Capital punishment in essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The argument about capital punishment is a very controversial one. Some individuals believe that death sentence is mandatory in order to reduce the rate of crimes, while others argue against this. I am of the opinion that capital penance should only be used when there are no other alternatives. Supporters of the death sentence would dispute that this discipline is justifiable for some heinous crimes. For example, serial killers and rapist have been seen to be irredeemable despite serving several years in prison. As a result of this repeated participation of unlawful it is only right they be sentenced to the electronic chair. Furthermore, this would deter other culprits from engaging in misdeeds. However, opponents of the end of life sentence like me, believe this should not always be used unless there are no other options. Firstly, a lot of persons have been wrongfully convicted. Take for instance, in the United States of America there are hundreds of people who have been arrested for an offense they did not commit, and it takes years of investigation before they are exonerated. Now, imagine if some of them were sentenced to death, then years to come sufficient evidence is brought forward and they are found not to be guilty. Justice was never served and of course they can not be raised from the dead. Therefore, it is only right to use other options of discipline such as few years in jail or community service. In addition, mentally sick individuals that commit an offense should be sent for psychiatric evaluation and be proven to lack mens rea. Once this is done and they are found to have a mental illness, an alternative punishment for them is to be taken to a behavioral facility. In conclusion, I would argue that capital punishment is not always a necessity to reduce the rate of criminal activities, there are various methods that can be used to tackle violence in the society.