In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, with the development of science and technology, transportation is growing quickly in many countries. There is an argument between whether it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines or the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. I think both perspectives are valid and the statement should depend on the situation of the countries. On the one hand, the development of new railway lines for fast trains can relieve the pressure of other transports such as air transport. Due to the railway transport has not many processes to take, more and more people prefer to choosing trains to travel. And another major reason is that railway transport is cheaper than air transport. Besides, it is important to develop fast railway lines to attract travellers and to promote tourism. Because most people like having a trip in a country where has convenient and fast transportation. On the other hand, improving existing public transport is beneficial to decrease traffic congestion. Some people like taking public transport such as a bus to work and going outside to replace driving their own cars. Because it can avoid traffic jams. Besides, the more people take public transport the environment will be protected more. In conclusion, there are valid views on both sides, so it is important to maintain the balance between constructing new railway lines and improving existing public transport. I think the government should take the countries’ situation into the consideration before taking the action.