Advantages and disadvantages studying in universities

Pursuing a higher degree in a tertiary institution has many benefits and drawbacks. This essay will first discuss its positive sides of affording one the opportunity to earn professional qualifications which give the better prospect for jobs upon graduating from the university, as well as the privilege of honing oneself with other valuable skills such as leadership experience and team spirit; and then the demerits of making one more theoretical and less useful in the real practical world. On the one hand, studying in a higher institution helps one to gain professional skills and earn higher degrees which makes one more marketable in the labour market upon graduating from the university. Quite a large number of employers are looking out for the best qualities, and will naturally want to have the most professionally-qualified job seekers to fill available vacant spaces. Additionally, they also gain other subtle skills that can be helpful for them in later years. Such skills include leadership experience and team spirit. In other words, they acquire skills such as being able to coordinate and lead others, through working in some groups like leading a tutorial group for example, in addition to developing their skill of working with others as a group to achieve a common objective. That being said, the major disadvantage of this university experience is its theoretical approach to solving problems. Most of the time, students are bombarded with the gamut of theories to cram and memorise, many of which have no application in the real world. As a result, many of them end up having fantastic qualifications but are not employable because they lack the necessary practical and useful experience that is constantly required in the business world. For instance, in Nigeria, numerous qualified agricultural graduates are not really working in the field of agriculture, in fact, many of them are unable to function, when placed in large agricultural firms. In conclusion, while university education is valuable because of the professional skills and experience one stands to gain from it, the quality of graduates being produced into the labour market who are more of theorists with little practical background is a major drawback. It is hoped that in the nearest future, the approach of university education will be changed to reflect the reality of what is considered favourable in the labour market.