The idea of going overseas for university study is an exciting prospect for many people. But while it may offer some advantages, it is probably better to stay home because of the difficulties a student inevitably encounters living and studying in a different culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is no doubt that studying abroad is now becoming mainstream for those who want to experience the international academic environment. Whilst the advocates declared that this phenomenon could have a positive effect, the opponents insisted that students had better stay home on the grounds of the difficulties related to studying and living. From my perspective, studying abroad could bring about some striking merits rather than drawbacks due to these reasons. First and foremost, one of the prominent advantages of overseas study is that it offers international students a broader view of the world in many aspects. They may face different people of distinguished culture and even suffered from “culture shock”. After then, however, the students will slowly comprehend to have a better understanding of others’ traditions and customs. As a result, the international students who return home could observe their countries in a positive and appreciated way. Secondly, living on an international campus, the students are not lonesome thought that they are coming from a far place. They can meet the other exchange students and create long-lasting friendships with everybody on the same campus. Additionally, it might even lead to some contacts that students could keep in touch with when they are graduate from college. In conclusion, while some people are giving concerns about having courses abroad instead of learning in their own countries, it is fundamental to remember that the benefits come from studying abroad can outweigh the disadvantages.