Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective and at worst they may be dangerous. To what extent do you agree with this statement.

In recent times, it has been noticed that people rather use other forms of drugs to treat their ailments rather than purchase medications prescribed by properly trained health professionals. Some persons argue that the use of alternative forms of medications have no side effects while others say that there are serious consequences associated with this new trend. I will discuss both views in this essay. On the one hand, individuals that support this trend do so because it is easier to purchase these substitutes or over the counter medications. Also, they are very cheap. Most times, if they present to the hospitals, the cost of the treatment will be much so because of this most individuals purchase them at a cheaper rate not minding what problems it might cause in the long term. Unconventional pharmaceuticals are dangerous to health, they cause serious complications when ingested. For example, some people will rather use herbal concussions to treat malaria instead of taking proper anti-malaria medication for better efficacy. A study done in East Africa by “Katakpe Kwame et al” in 1999 showed that persons who had a frequent history of taking these traditional substances for treatment developed chronic kidney disease after an average of 40 years. They found that this unorthodox cure reduces the capacity of kidney function. Another reason why alternative forms of medicine are disastrous is that the exact composition of the drugs are not known and there is no measured dosage tagged to it. For this reason, people just consume as much as they can and this causes suppression of the normal body immunity, function and even makes people sicker. To conclude, I agree that there are dangerous side effects of using unconventional remedies to treat illnesses because they end up worsening the health of the affected individuals.