The position of women has changed a great deal in many societies over the past 50 years. But these societies cannot claim to have achieved gender equality. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over a period of 50 years, there has been significant progress in the female position in a lot of societies. However, there are some people insisting that gender inequality still exists in their environment. I totally agree with this statement because even though we can see some improvement in women ’s positions, there is some inequality between males and females in terms of their payment and the amount of time that women spend on child-rearing. To begin with, there is a significant gap in their salary between men and women. Some statistics conducted by the Japanese government in 2020 shows that 90% of full-time female workers in Japanese companies have been feeling dissatisfaction with the disparity between their remuneration and that of males. For instance, in the same company, male employees who have worked for three years can get 30000 yen for their promotion, while female workers in the same condition can gain only a third of that of males. That is to say, this example shows that the inequality in their remuneration is still significant. Furthermore, in many parts of the world such as Africa and Asia, unlike European nations, the majority of the burden, including housework and raising children, is on women. For example, according to BBC News, the average amount of time that Japanese fathers spend on housework and child-rearing is about 40 minutes per day. By contrast, that of American fathers is roughly two and a half hours in a day. This gender imbalance indicates that even in some developed countries like Japan, where more and more women have achieved a higher position at work such as CEOs, the unfairness has not been gotten rid of yet. In conclusion, although more and more women succeeded in their careers in many parts of the world, it is argued that the achievement of gender equality is still underway. I completely agree with this viewpoint for the different amount of remuneration from that of men and for the number of hours that mothers and fathers spend on things related to housework.