Some people think that parents have a great influence on their children. Others believe that the media is a bigger influence. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Children are heavily influenced by various things they are exposed to. It is opined by some that parents have a major influence on any child's mind. Whereas, others believe that sources such as the television and the internet have a greater impact on the young brain of a kid. In this essay, I will examine both these views and then explain why I think that parents have a greater influence on children. To begin with, some people say that children are inclined more to follow and listen to their parents as they spent the majority of their childhood in their presence. They will mimic what their parents do and develop an understanding of the world through their parents. For example, a child learns important core values such as honesty and kindness for the first time only through his or her caregivers. Moreover, if the parents are not attentive enough then the child might grow up and face problems making friends or even in their relationships. Conversely, others believe that nowadays media influence has a greater impact on a child's mind. This is due to the huge availability and exposure of media to the kids through the internet and television. It has become common sight where some children will eat their food only with an iPad in their hands. Additionally, a developing brain such that of a child is easily influenced by whatever he or she sees or reads. For instance, many school children are impressed by internet influencers and try to repeat the same things they do and sometimes end up hurting themselves. In conclusion, I believe both parents and media have an impact on young minds. On balance, however, I feel that parents have a greater influence and responsibility on their child as children believe their parents first and spend most of their time with them.