Tourism has become one of the leading sources of revenue in many countries. Do the advantages of tourism outweigh the disadvantages?

The question of whether the leisure industry ought to be the major means of income in some nations has prompted a substantial debate. While many advocate for this, because of the numerous benefits such as increased employment opportunities for the local community, others contend against it since untouched vegetation is destroyed to build these sites. Analyzing this factuality will give a comprehensive overview of this subject matter. On the one hand, opening up new tourist sites provides job opportunities for the town's residents, which is their major source of living. For example, the Anambra Modern cave site, located in my village, is the primary means of income for my town folks, offering many unskilled jobs such as; cooks, cleaners, cashiers and security. Clearly, many of my kin would have been unemployed if not for the cave leisure site. Thus, one of the reasons why the advantages of tourism outweigh the drawbacks. However, on the other hand, natural reserves are destroyed to erect these centres which threaten our ecosystem. The conclusion of my recently concluded capstone project, for instance, showed that 80% of trees in Greater Sudbury were brought down during the construction of various resorts, as a result, the city faces extremely harsh weather during winter. Obviously, Sudbury would not face such drastic weather conditions if not for the touristy business. Therefore, this is one of the reasons why the disadvantages surpass the merits. In conclusion, the issue if tourism should be the primary means of income in certain countries has sparked a considerable dispute. Many believe it is beneficial as it offers tremendous employment possibilities for the host community, whereas others think it is a demerit because it harms the environment. Examining these facts has given an in-depth understanding of this topic.