Some business observe that new employees who just graduated from a college or university seem to lack interpersonal skills needed for communication with their colleagues. What could be the reason for this? What solution can help address this problem?

It is thought by a selection of individuals that new graduates these days lack soft skills such as interpersonal skills which in turn make them cannot communicate with their colleagues as they should. In this essay, the reasons and solutions for this matter will be outlined in the following paragraphs before reaching a conclusion. At the outset, there are several causes to contributing to communication issues and one of the most significant is the advances in technologies. To elaborate further, the new generation tend to look at the screen of their smartphones all the time and therefore they do not keen on having conversations. Moreover, young adults can use these state-of-the-art technologies to keep in touch with their old friends, for example, schools and universities, and hence they can find that winning new friends is unnecessary. An apt illustration of this is that when I first went to my company on the first week, I found myself staying happy and content even if I did not have a conversation with my colleagues because I could surf the Internet by using my iPhone whenever I was in my leisure time; besides, I could text my university's friends any time via Line. On the flip side of the coin, there are a number of methods to address and mitigate this issue and the most crucial one is activities which are organised by their employers. To explain in greater detail, companies should organise events that allow new employees to spend their quality time together. Furthermore, bosses can nudge their new subordinates to socialise by assigning them working on the same project. To specifically demonstrate, as I was alone and solitary for 2 months doing the same routines, playing my phone and working, my boss assigned me a new project which I had to work with a new employee who just started working that week. Thus, after spending time discussing every matter related to the task as well as going to sites to record the data for presentation, we became a close friend and talked to each other every day. All in all, it is undeniable that there are plenty of causes that make new employees who just graduated from a college or university neglect to communicate with their colleagues such as technology like smartphones. As a result, employers should find some activities that can bridge their relationship, namely, organising events or assigning projects for them.