Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football, while other people think that taking part in individual sports, like tennis or swimming, is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that participating in team sports such as basketball and soccer is more beneficial or solo sports like swimming bring more advantages for players. In this essay, I am going to examine this thesis in both points of view and then give my own opinion on the matter. On the one hand, team sports like football, hockey or basketball bring people several benefits. The most obvious reason is that playing in a team will develop some crucial skills such as teamwork and communication. In the process of attempting to get a common objective, players can learn how to cooperate with their peers, express their point of view and lower their ego when it is necessary. To illustrate, a combination of individuals with different personalities will not achieve their target if they do not commit and be understanding with each other. On the other hand, it is undeniable that individual sports have their own merits. The main reason for believing this is that since people have to deal with many difficulties in the practicing process by themselves, individuals who engage in sport alone will be able to enhance some good characteristics such as independence, drive and discipline. Solo sports are good opportunities for participants to challenge themselves by setting a goal and trying as hard as they can to complete it. Another critical reason is that people can play more freely when being alone, they can make their own rules and do things the way they want without concerning about disagreements in the team. In conclusion, I believe both team sports and individual sports have their own positive effects. On balance, however, I feel that engaging in solo sports are more beneficial due to the fact that they help participants overcome their mental obstacles, which is a key factor leading to success.