The number of people being sent to prison is increasing year by year. While some people believe prison is the best way to tackle crime, others suggest that community service is more successful. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The population of prisoners has been increasing in recent years. While there are people who see prison sentences as Justice to criminals, others disagree and prefer other punishments. In my opinion, depending on the crime both jail and community service could be reasonable. A prison sentence may be advantageous for several reasons. Fiercely governments can watch and control dangerous felons in prisons. For example, if a serial killer was not held in detention, he could kill more people during his community service duty. In addition, this would warn individuals, especially young adults that their actions have consequences. Secondly, these culprits, who regret their crimes, can learn useful skills in prison which help them to have a job in the future. Finally, keeping these people in jail would result in more safety in Society. On the other hand, community service is likely to be more successful for people who attend a crime for the first time and do not jeopardize others. For instance, governments can use them to help society if it was their first pickpocket or they were juveniles. It is worth mentioning that sometimes kindness to these lawbreakers might deter them to become criminals. Moreover, keeping them in a prison would give them the opportunity of acquaintance with dangerous felons. By compelling them to do community services, they can also stay with their family which may result in better outcomes. In conclusion, authorities can punish lawbreakers in many different ways including prison sentences and community service but, in my view, it should be regard to their crime and the scale of their danger to society.