News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Fewer news stories in newspapers and on TV are providing image content and have sparked a debate on whether accompanying pictures are more effective than just words. I concur with the notion that including pictures are far more effective than just words as there are multifold reasons why it's effective. This essay will provide arguments with examples to prove the point. First and foremost, a lot of news agencies underestimate the importance of pictures, but there are certain limitations on describing an event through words. Although the reader can grasp a general understanding of the event through words, showing a single image can describe and allow the reader to understand far superior to words. For instance, showing a single image of war can allow the reader to feel the emotions and connect with the people that cannot be explained through words. Hence, providing a reference to look at for the readers is far more superior to texts. Secondly, providing an image reference for the viewers can capture their attention. Reading through long paragraphs of texts can be quite boring and can stray the reader's focus away. On the other hand, including a visual reference can allow the viewers to focus. For example, children's books use a lot of visual materials and very few texts as such a method allow children to stay focused while reading. Therefore, the usage of pictures should not be underestimated and be used more frequently. In conclusion, even though a lot of news agencies underestimate the power of images, such visual references are extremely effective and essential. As a result, with the aforementioned reasons, I strongly agree that pictures are far more effective than words and should be used more on TV and newspapers.