In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Certain people around the globe opine that it is better to spend money on building new railway lines for inter-city speed trains while others argue that is it a waste of money which should rather be used to better the current forms of transportation used by the public. Personally, I believe spending money on manufacturing new train stations helps decongest the other forms of transportation. One plus point of spending money on the construction of train stations is that it works serves as a way of reducing congestion in the other transport sectors. Traffic congestion is a global problem today because people do not have other alternative means of transport that they could use. Hence, building such stations presents them with more options to use thus reducing the congestion in the long run. Take, for instance, in a survey conducted on the reasons for traffic congestion on some Zambian roads, it was determined that this was due to a lack of alternative means of transportation for people to use thus the congestion. Therefore, it is only prudent that money should be spent on the construction of railway lines for speed trains. This represents my opinion on this matter. On the other hand, others oppose the preceding thought because they believe that the existing means of transport are already more effective than the trains. In other words, the current forms of transport are very reliable no wonder people opted for them in the first place. Hence, rather than use the money on something new, it is better to spend it on ensuring that the roads, for instance, are safer so that people can continue enjoying themselves as before. For example, rather than forsaking the rehabilitation of roads that offers both shorter and longer routes, it is prudent to improve these as they are more commonly used. This in itself is reason enough for certain individuals to decide on taking this route. By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my stance that spending more money on constructing new railway stations as an alternative to the existing public transport system, serves as a way of decongesting them. This will be better understood in the coming days.