Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand, and what measures can governments and individuals take to respond to this problem.

In the modern world, the scarcity of freshwaterwater fresh water water has made it extremely demanding and is becoming a global problem. This essay will discuss the causes behind such an increase in demand and measures that can be taken by the government and individuals to combat this issue. First and foremost, freshwater has been a scarce resource in certain locations of the world, but the increase in the demand for such a scarce resource has made this a worldwide issue. This is due to the drastic population growth that's been very apparent in many locations of the world. As the world population continues to grow, the increased demand for such a scarce resource as water is inevitable. For instance, countries like China and India have the largest population in the world but struggle to find freshwater as such resources can't keep up with the continued demand of such a large population. Thus, an increase in population can be the root cause of a growing demand for freshwater. Nevertheless, there are multifold measures that can be implemented by individuals and the government to respond to such a crisis. Firstly, government intervention like limiting the water usage for each household and penalising if they exceed the limits given. Last but not the least, individuals can monitor their water usage to keep track and reduce unnecessary water usage like washing cars, long showers, etc. For example, Australia distributed each household with an hourglass that suggested people take short showers and banned washing cars with hoses. Therefore, many measures are available to combat such a phenomenon. In conclusion, with the increased population growth, the worldwide issue caused by increased demand and the shortage of a scarce resource like freshwater is inevitable. Nonetheless, with the aforementioned suggestion, methods like individual and government interventions to ensure that such a resource is available for the future must be implemented.