Some people think that because children find subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult, they ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, schools offer a wide range of subjects in their curriculum, which could be mandatory or optional. In this regard, some people opine that students should have the right to choose difficult subjects of their own will and not by the force of the school. From my standpoint, it is essential that every student have at least a basic knowledge of maths and philosophy. Firstly, students are in a competition at school, and sometimes their education levels determine their place in classes. Hence, if they compare their ability with other classmates, it can lead to low self-esteem, and lack of confidence. Secondly, courses, such as mathematics are not only necessary in real life but also help children to develop their cognitive skills. For example, when children solve complex problems they are forced to think about different aspects of each question, which could be useful in handling challenging situations in the future. Thirdly, in order to be successful in the future, they should complete some subjects, otherwise, they could not find their desirable jobs. Taking into account this issue, mathematics is one of the topics that are related to other subjects like science and art. Pharmacists should be aware of addition or subtraction to prescribe an accurate dose to patients or artists, who are into cubism art, need to know some mathematical knowledge to draw perfectly. Finally, with respect to the whole views mentioned above, although minors have the right and freedom to choose their courses, they should have basic education to be successful in the future. Therefore, schools should allocate some money to develop new learning methods for difficult courses.