Despite a large number of gyms, a sedentary lifestyle is gaining popularity in the contemporary world. What problems are associated with this? What solutions can you suggest?

In the modern world, despite the availability of numerous health facilities for exercising, individuals still prefer to live a dormant lifestyle. Throughout this essay, I will discuss the problems associated with such behaviour and suggest possible solutions for the same. Firstly, in today's time, rather than spending time outdoors in a gymnasium for physical activity, people are glued to their gadgets. With the advent of technology and a hectic lifestyle, a major part of the population spend their time browsing the internet or watching movies, while munching away on snacks. The rise in gyms has been eclipsed by the increased usage of technology. Consequently, due to lack of body movement, the present generation is more prone to Obesity and other health diseases, stemming from being overweight such as type 1 Diabetes. One solution to the problem, could be quantifying the amount of time that a person spends on the world wide web and dedicating a stipulated period of time for exercise. As a result, people will lead a balanced and healthier life. Another problem with a stagnant way of living is that it affects a person's mental health. When a person exercises it leads to the release of certain hormones such as endorphins, which is the contributing factor for making a person happy.In the absence of any physical exertion, the blood flow to the brain is constricted and since blood is also the major carrier of oxygen, the brain cells lack adequate oxygen to be active. Furthermore, due to less activity of the brain, work productivity is also hindered. One solution to the problem could be employers making it mandatory for the employees to spend a dedicated amount of time in some form of exercise and having a healthcare facility within the office premise. Hence, people will be more instigated to workout due to it being a part of their work and commuting time to a gym will also be reduced, allowing for the optimal utilisation of time. In conclusion, sedentary life is not only the cause of health issues but also affects mental wellness. It is not only up to the individual to make an effort to dedicate a certain amount of time for being mobile but also the responsibility of the people in his workspace to ensure he gets time to spend on his health.