Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary world, pupils have become more independent and have been given more privacy compared to the past. It is opined by some individuals that juveniles should not be given the right to make their own decisions as it will increase selfishness among them whereas, some people object that they know themselves better and they should have the right to make their own choice on daily basis. I side with the second view in this statement. To commence with some reasons to support the later view in this scenario, first of all, kids do not have enough knowledge and experience to make better decisions as they will only pick things that look attractive to them. It is reported in a survey where juveniles were invited to a party with two types of meal junk and healthy food, it was noticed that all of them went for burgers,pizza and spicy food. As a result, they suffered food poisoning. Secondly, it will increase aggressive and self-centred behaviour among kids as they do not like their parents interfering in their decisions so when they will be given a chance to decide anything without asking their parents, they will feel free and make choices without thinking about their parent's budget. On the contrary side, kids should make decisions because it will make them realize their mistakes if they make any erroneous decision rather than if they were stopped to make that decision by their guardians in the first place. For instance, if teenagers buy their own clothes they will never make the same mistake which they made before. In addition, they will help them in being them an expert in one specific skill if they have everything related to their interest. To conclude, no doubt pupils would make some erroneous decision but it will help them learn more quickly and passionately.