As global trade increases, many goods including those we use on a daily basis are produced in other countries and have to be transported long distance.  Do the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

Due to the rise in worldwide sales, many products that are utilized on a day to day basis are manufactured in different nations and have to be shipped to faraway distances. I believe that this has more positive implications than negative. Admittedly, transporting goods from one country to another does not come without its drawbacks. One minor demerit is that it leads to food spoilage. This is because the products that are being transported takes a long time to get to the destination country, and as such the goods get spoilt in the process. For example, my Neighbor’s products that were moved from Lagos State to Abia State, by road, took more than a week, and, in the process, all the produce rotted. Therefore, produce get spoilt when moved to far distance. Nevertheless, despite the above minor drawback, I believe the advantage associated with the transportation of goods to a long-distance far supersedes its disadvantage. One major benefit is that it increases the revenue of the host country. In other words, the exporting nation has more income being generated as a result of the products they export. For instance, the income of China has greatly increased because they export products globally. So, countries gain more when they transport goods to long distances. In conclusion, although the transportation of produce to distant countries has some demerits, I believe that the benefit in terms of a rise in the income of the exporting nation far surpasses the drawback of food spoilage. Efforts should be made by relevant authorities to make it a norm.