It is often argued that despite the diversity of cultural backgrounds and ages, music can reunite everyone regardless of those factors.

It is often argued that despite the diversity of cultural backgrounds and ages, music can reunite everyone regardless of those factors. I strongly disagree with the statement because music preference is based on individuals' backgrounds and generations. First of all, an individual’s music taste can be determined by their culture. It is because people’s culture produces some specific musical behaviour. For example, most Europeans love to listen to fast-paced and complex music which contains high notes since their ancestors arranged many complicated songs. However, some particular societies, such as Asians, prefer playing easy-listening songs, such as ballads. Therefore, it may be impossible to acculturate between different cultures with music. Secondly, different generations have their own music genre. Throughout centuries, music has been developed into different forms and genres, while it depends on the preferences of the people who live in those eras. Although rock and roll music, for instance, is the favourite genre of the baby boomer generation, many millennials cannot stand to listen to that music for a long time. Thus, reuniting people of different ages is unthinkable. In summary, I completely believe that music cannot bring people who come from diverse cultures and generations due to their music genre which depends on those two factors.