In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

There are different views about whether ageing people may cause some problems for authorities or if they are practical for society. I admit that the retired may have more benefits, such as transferring information to young people and family gatherings, than their drawbacks, like pensions and community care. To begin with, increasing pension costs might be the most important problem for governments. While the laws have to allocate a budget for the retired people. This money might be used for infrastructures such as building modern schools or green spaces to improve the quality of education and air quality. Also, they will require more attention from family and the government. When they become older, they are less likely to be able to take care of themselves in many ways. For example, When the number of elderly individuals increases, the government must construct new facilities to care for them, even though some continue to reside with their families. Despite some drawbacks, retired people play a significant role in improving communities in different ways. Firstly, they can help students who graduated recently to find appropriate jobs that fit their desires. For instance, ageing people with valuable information might be invited by authorities to several seminars to persuade young people to gain experience and knowledge to learn how to work more efficiently. Moreover, ageing people can make a strong bond with family, because of giving good advice and helping parents to bring up better children. In particular, elderly individuals may spend more time with their grandchildren, providing care and sharing stories that can positively impact their outlook on various aspects of life. In conclusion, governments might struggle with some aspects of having a lot of ageing people in society; however, they should have more benefits not only for governments but also for families.