Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that the purpose of learning a language of another country is for employment or visiting that land while others believe that there are several reasons behind learning a foreign tongue. Personally, I concur with the latter statement because interest in researching about another country's culture and history can be a reason for learning a language of another country. On one hand, many people learn a foreign language when about to tour or work in that land so that they can be able to communicate effectively with the natives. Since language is the only means people can be able to understand one another, it is usually necessary for foreigners to learn it so that they could be able to associate freely with other people. For example, in order for a nurse to effectively perform his duties at work, he needs to speak the language of the natives so that he can be understood. Moreover, in order for a tourist to find his way to his destination, he needs to communicate well with the locals. Therefore, in order to be assisted while in that land, foreigners are usually required to learn the native language. Despite that being the case, this does not represent my thoughts on this matter On the other hand, many people including myself, believe that a foreign language should be learned when someone is interested in researching the history and culture of that land. To put this in perspective, due to the fact that most of the surviving historical records about many country's heritage are in their local languages, a person can only find it easy to conduct research when he is able to speak with the locals. For example, in research conducted by a South African company on the history of the mighty Zambezi river in 2015, they experienced many hurdles in gathering information from the local people during personal interviews due to the fact that they could not speak that language. Henceforth, language is essential for many reasons besides work and travel. By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my statement that language should and is usually learned for other reasons including search in order to obtain the desired results. Language offers a wider range of options for many to do so.