The use of illegal drugs, such as heroin and cocaine, are becoming more and more common in many countries. What are some of the problems associated with drug abuse? What are some of the possible solutions?

The abuse of narcotics has claimed many lives all over the world. Many nations are experiencing an increase in the use of these banned substances. This essay explains the issues caused by drug use and also the solutions for these problems. To begin with, drugs abuse has many harmful effects on the physical and mental health of the abuser. They lead to serious diseases like endocarditis or HIV infection and mental problems such as hallucinations and delirium. An addict's body, for instance, often gets infected due to poor hygiene and the use of shared needles. Moreover, the person is shunned from society and might end up homeless. Another problem is that with the rise in the number of addicts there is a rise in homelessness and crimes. This happens because drug users usually spend all of their money on drugs and after that turn to theft to get money for their next dose. However, these grave issues can be fought. Mainly by educating the public about the harmful effects of these substances. For example, by running strong awareness campaigns about the damages caused by drugs, governments can help overcome this issue. Additionally, existing addicts should be helped and enlisted in rehabilitation centres to help them become a functioning part of society again. Thus, it will help reduce the crimes caused by them. In conclusion, drugs such as cocaine and heroin have definitely wreaked havoc on society. They destroy people physically as well as mentally and also lead to an increase in crime and homelessness. Nevertheless, these issues could be overcome with education campaigns for the public and proper rehabilitation of drug abusers. It will be a long and difficult task but it will definitely help society.