At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent past years, the death rate of the older population has increased in some countries as compared to the death rate of other countries. As a result, these nations have experienced a drop in their older population and have more adults. However, this population difference has some benefits and a few drawbacks as well. If a country has the large number of younger people rather than elder people it directly means it has a more efficient workforce. As adults are considered to contribute to the nation's economy and are committed to the betterment of society. The efforts made by the young population would decide the future and progress of a country. To illustrate, in a country major portion of the taxes is paid by the younger generation on contrary, the senior citizens take pensions from the government and are considered a a burden on the government. Furthermore, the state could invest in creating more income resources for the country rather than saving them for the old people in order to provide them free medical services. On the other hand, there are a few drawbacks related to less number of the older population in contrast to the younger population in a country. As every sector needs some experienced staff whose advice and experience could help younger staff in making a decision for the good of an organisation. For example, there is a number of jobs in the job market which demand retired people like teachers, doctors etc. so that young professionals can learn some skills and techniques from them, which they have gained by working throughout their lives. Moreover, young members of the family also need the support and help of the older members of the family. In conclusion, as we see there are more benefits as compared to disadvantages for having a relatively large number of young adults as compared to old people for a country.