More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think that children should learn technology skills. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is generally acknowledged that youngsters tend to increasingly use electronic devices such as computers and tablets in this contemporary society as their parents permit this trend in order to increase children's technological ability. Regarding this, I strongly believe that the benefit of this trend overwhelm the drawback. On the one hand, some populations concern that using PC for an excessive amount of time by children decreases social interaction, thereby leading to disruption of growth. Since a significant number of kids focus on the tiny screen all day, they do not communicate and play with peers in person. What is more, sedentery lifestyle with laptops interfere with growth. For example, recent media reports that almost 10% of young student have a tendency that their heights and weights are smaller than other ones. As the example clearly illustrates, consumption of too much time on computers disrupts children to be grow adaquately. On the other hand, learning about technology plays a key factor in adaption in this fast faced world. Not only can gaining technological skill be helpful for studying remotely in foreign countries, but it may also provides chances to experience various content indirectly through the Internet. For instance, a survey conducted by the Korea Educational Foundation has revealed that pupils who have owned computers in an early age become more knowledgeable than other mates. Therefore, it is reasonable to point out that they can have more chances to adapt in competitive society than others who do not have used computers. In conclusion, while I accept that children who use electronic apparatus too much can sometimes be antisocial, thereby leading to a delay of growth, there is no doubt to point out that the advantage is way higher than the disadvantage. However, I recommend that when children use items such as tablets, they need to be monitored by guardiances.