More people should stop buying ready-made foods and prepare home-cooked meals instead.

In this day and age, maintaining a healthy lifestyle by eating selectively is one of the most essential parts of our lives. While some people support the consumption of ready-made foods, others prefer cooking meals themselves. A healthy home-cooked dish would be preferable from my perspective. First and foremost, home meals can guarantee food hygiene and safety which in-store food cannot. Particularly, people tend to hand-pick the fresh and clean ingredients to prepare for home-cooked dishes, while diners would rather choose low-price ones to make a profit. Furthermore, being aware of the components, home cooks can proactively balance the right amount of nutrition and calories in each meal. Restaurant dishes, by contrast, contain too much seasoning despite the lack of essential nutrients. Hence, cooking your own grub helps avoid several hidden health problems that ready-made food potentially leads to such as hypertension, obesity, and diabetes. In addition, cooking is also a form of meditation. For many years, psychologists have already started exploring culinary therapy, also known as cooking therapy, to treat mental diseases. Since cooking imbues people with a great sense of accomplishment and pride, not only can it conjure up positive thoughts and cheerful emotions, but it can also boost confidence and self-esteem. Moreover, cooking is widely considered a helpful survival skill. For instance, since lockdowns were enacted to restrict the outbreak of Covid-19, the unavailability of ready-made foods has led to the popularity of home-cooked grub. Indeed, honing cookery will help pull you through thick and thin. In conclusion, although eating ready-made foods arouses human appetite with their tasteful flavours and eye-catching appearances, consuming meals cooked by yourself brings numerous better benefits. Therefore, I still stand my ground that home-cooked meals are always the priority for those who attach special importance to good health and good life.