In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

There has been an encouraging view from some nations that the youngster should get engaged in employment or explore somewhere new in the period from completing the academic program at high school to attending university. This essay will discuss this perspective to demonstrate its benefits and drawbacks to young generations. On the one hand, taking a gap year for working or travelling undoubtedly plays beneficial impacts on the personal development of students. It should be noted that the young are obliged to fulfil certain responsibilities in the workplace and this might enhance their confidence and maturity. In addition to this, becoming employee in a wide range of industries helps the young community gain rich experiences and apply for a major that fits their interests when it comes to choosing a specializing course at university. Furthermore, exposing to a new landscape allows youngsters to broaden their horizons and attain an insight knowledge about cultural diversities and social norms simultaneously. As well as that, young people are able to behave and communicate appropriately when collaborating with various groups of people at the workplace or university in the future. On the other hand, apart from its merits, the downside of this trend should not be ignored. The foremost drawback is that the young are being left by their peers. While these individuals are struggling to finish the academic programs, their peers might be engaged in employment and this causes them the feel of being inferior and demotivated. That is why almost all students pursue tertiary education right after finishing high school. Additionally, at the age of being immature and naive still, the young community could be seduced by bad people at the places they came across and end up becoming drug addicts or lawbreakers. Another disadvantage get involved in the amount of tempting income from jobs that make youngsters consequently take no notice of the importance of higher education and devote themselves to making fortune. In conclusion, a gap year could indeed have a profound positive effect on young generations in terms of developing essential skills and achieving fulfiling experiences though, its negative effects should not be disregarded.