Some people say that it is. A waste of time to learn literature such as novel and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a growing idea among some communities that, spending time on literature such as novel and poems are non-effective for life. However, learning and reading them will improve the humanitarian features of people such as compassion and caring for others. furthermore, almost always would improve the reader's awareness about the world and vocabulary. Hence this writer is in complete disagreement with the given notion. To begin with, when we consider novels and poems, most of the time they are based on the true stories of people and, the reader has the chance to look at others ' life experiences. at the same time, the reader could develop empathy towards others and this may lead to developing higher-level humanitarian features like compassion and caring towards others. For instance, recent research published by the University of Colombo has shown that compared to the general population criminals are not fascinated with literature like novels and poems. At the same time, when people are reading and learning more and more novels and poems, invariably their knowledge about the society is increasing. Furthermore, when they are reading, their knowledge about the language and its vocabulary will be uplifting. for example, according to a survey conducted by Oxford University, students who read more novels and poems have done well in language exams compared to students who are not fond of reading those books. In conclusion, even though some people are against learning literature claiming that waste of time, this mode of entertainment can improve the qualities of humans and their knowledge. Hence, this writer is in complete disagreement with the fact that learning literature is waste of time.