In the past, many male leaders have led our society to conflicts and violence. The world would be better governed and more peaceful if it was ruled by women. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

There is a controversial statement heating a debate over the fact that back in the old days, there was a wide range of disastrous wars and conflicts stemming from male leaders’ decisions, the world hence might be a better place if it were run by females. Personally, I consider myself an opponent of this perspective since I believe that one’s gender might have nothing to do with their leadership skills. On the one hand, while it is irrefutable that males are generally aggressive by nature, there is no robust evidence to prove that gender is the main factor that contributes to violent conflicts of male leaders in the past. There is such a common misconception that leaders’ decisions are determined very often by their natural dispositions, but it is public opinions and social welfare that policies are validated. For instance, Hitler Adolf before World War II can be cited as a telling example, his attempt to establish a pure race of German people and colonize Europe reflected more a common desire shared by the whole German society than his own will. Therefore, it is impulsive to note that the natural features of genders result in conflicts. On the other hand, the point of view that genders affect one’s leadership qualities is also ungrounded. Therefore, rulers of a nation should be voted based on their ability to govern a country rather than their gender, those who are able to make appropriate decisions when it comes to tough situations. Although women might seem to be less combative, quarrelsome and ambitious than males, there are always exceptions that show the same decisiveness as their counterpart does. For instance, Magaret Thatcher, the former Prime Minister of the United Kingdom had sent a naval task force to the battlefield and succeeded to settle the military conflict with Argentina. Thus, the relationship between gender and peace-making is remote. To sum up, it is by no means that genders affect the decision-making skills and leadership ability of a person, and both males and females can be qualified to become politicians and leaders of a nation.