The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2020 there may be as many as 32 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

From 1888, the year in which cars were introduced in Britain, the number of circulating vehicles rocketed and nowadays over 32 million of them are moving on British roads. Some important problems linked to this spread have to be faced immediately by, for instance, encouraging the usage of different forms of transport or introducing new international laws that aim at curbing this problem. Frankly, I completely agree with this opinion and this essay will explain the reasons for it. First of all, one of the main results of cars spread is the steady increase of pollution with lots of health problems,especially for people who live in the crowdest cities. Fuel used by cars in order to move has noticeable consequences on the environment that surrounds us. For instance, polluted air is the cause for acid rains that are harmful for crops and fish is in seas end result in toxic food on our tables. Secondly, we have to consider the resources shortage that characterised our exploited world. The consequence of overpopulation is that we have to provide increasingly more resources. Entrepreneurs’ priority is to maximise their profits even if it means leaving a poorer world to our successors. Subsequently, woods are deforested and mines are emptied, without thinking about any of the potential consequences and only looking at men's interests to meet their needs in the easiest way they can. In conclusion, I strongly believe that governments should do everything they can in order to discourage car usage and to inform people about how fragile our world is.