Some people believe that if people are allowed to buy guns, they will be able to protect themselves and the crime rate can be lower. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued by some that making possessing guns legal will lead to individuals' self-defence and therefore reduces the rate of violent assault in society. From my point of view, I strongly disagree with this opinion. In this essay, I will discuss this more in detail. On the one hand, firearms can be used to protect some citizens in certain circumstances. To give an example, women are able to protect themselves from domestic abusers or stalkers. The presence of a gun can be a deterrence to making conflicts more violent. On the other hand, obtaining guns will not necessarily deter crimes. To begin with, it is reported that cases that firearms are used for self-defence are rare. Not only it is not used to protect themselves, but it also increases the rate of murder. To illustrate this, according to some research, households that have guns in the premice are 500% more likely to face a shooting murder compared to those that do not own weapons. In addition to that, there are more risks for offspring as well. More than 5 cases of children's misuse of weapons have been reported in the United States in 2021 and some of them caused death. Needless to say, children's misuse of firearms should be prevented in many cases. To conclude, although some argue that it is necessary for them to obtain a gun as a mean of self-defence and says it reduces the crime rate, owning a gun can not be a deterrent to committing a crime and it may put kids in danger in the community. Therefore, in my opinion, I strongly disagree.