Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the sense of competition has become higher, especially in work life. Many people believe that competition sense should be stimulated from an early age while the other people prefer to teach teamwork to compete; however, this essay will discuss some relevant reasons behind both views reasonably. To begin with, encouraging children's sense of competition gives several benefits in many aspects. Competition sense will give the children motivation to achieve their goals. For example, while they are in school, they will be motivated by their friends who get higher scores. Furthermore, they will find a way to beat their friend, such as getting a private tutor in a particular subject that can guide them to achieve their goals and make micro improvements day by day. This progress will help them gain self-confidence to achieve their goals. On the other hand, stimulation of competition sense can be wrongly interpreted by children become rivalry sense. They will always have a strong desire to be the winner, which can negatively affect their mental health. For instance, they will lose their confidence when they are lost in a particular competition. Instead, only rise only the competition sense, children should be taught to co-operate with other people. It can be achieved by assigning a problem through a small discussion group. With this kind of discussion, children are also taught to respect other people's opinions and suppress their selfishness. Consequently, when they get used to working in a group and have that sense of competition, they can quickly adapt to their future work environment. In conclusion, it is crucial to teach competition sense to children early, but it should be balanced with teaching them to co-operate skills.