An increasing number of professionals such as doctors and teachers are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What can be done to deal with this situation?

Medical professionals and educators are crucial for the functioning of society. In recent times many of these workers are moving out of their less-developed nations and immigrating to first world countries for work. In this essay, I will explain the main reasons causing the problem as well as suggests solutions to overcome this issue. To begin with, doctors and teachers are moving to developed countries is because of higher pay in those nations. These skilled workers feel that they are not properly compensated in their own countries as compared to abroad. For instance, a doctor in the United States makes ten times more than a doctor in Ghana. Thus, doctors from countries like Ghana finds it beneficial to shift to the countries with higher pay. Additionally, abroad they find more opportunities for further training in their fields. This special training helps them excel in their career and fulfil their ambitions. However, this drain of skill from poor countries to rich countries can be stopped by improving salaries. This will incentivise teachers and doctors to stay in their own countries and pursue their careers. For example, the high pay attracts many professionals to work in the IT sector this should be replicated in the healthcare and education sector. Moreover, there should be an increase in the number of training positions for postgraduation courses so that workers do not have to move abroad to do them. In conclusion, the exodus of doctors and teachers from under-developed nations is on the rise as they get better pay and training opportunities in developed countries. This can be reversed by improving pay conditions and increasing postgraduate seats.