Some people believe that it is important to give gifts to friends and family to show that we care about them. Others think that there are better ways to show that we care. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays it's believed that giving presents to our nearest and dearest is the best way to show our love and care. However, other people prefer other ways of demonstrating their sympathy. In my opinion material side is less essential to provide a good relationship than expressing that you really care. This essay will discuss both points of view in detail until the appropriate conclusion can be reached. On the one hand, there is a great range of reasons to purchase presents for mates or families. One key purpose for giving gifts is a sign of care and love. Birthday ones show that the presenter remembers any personal detail important for the receiver. Another one - it's the best way to express regret about something bad done. It's a well-known fact, especially among men, that a bunch of expensive red roses can overweigh the seriousness of their misbehaving. For example, the increased demand for flowers on International Women's Day breaks all records of purchasing. On the other hand, along with the popularity of such preferences, there is another public opinion that feelings can be expressed in a more creative way. People are discussing some drawbacks of giving something. It's becoming more and more popular to write poems and dedicate some pieces of art to beloved ones. As an example, we can choose the story of a French poet Cyrano de Bergerac, who could impress a young woman with the power of words although having an unattractive appearance. In conclusion, although there is a great choice of presents on sale, there are still some people who prefer other ways of making someone happy. I prefer creativity to material matters.