People in all modern societies use drugs, but today’s youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasingly early age. Some sociologist claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example. Discuss the causes and some effects of widespread drug use by young people in modern day society. Make any recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight youth drug abuse.

In today's time, there is an increased use of legal and illegal drugs among the youth at an young age for recreational purpose, due to parents and certain members of the community setting a bad precedence in terms of drug usage as speculated by sociologists. Throughout this essay, I will explore the rising problem of drug consumption among young adults and suggest possible solutions to combat this issue. To begin with, many a time, drugs are seen as a part of pop culture and taken by certain musicians, actors and people of the liberal arts. Certain youngsters idolise these people and seeing them take drugs has a profound effect on their life life's lifes. Consequently, people of a certain age bracket start experimenting with drugs in order to integrate into a certain section of the society, which is considered to be bohemian and creative, as drugs are associated with being a sign of rebellious which appeals to the youth. However, little do they know the detrimental effect it has on their body and mind. One solution to the problem would be to to not only educate students about the harmfull impact of drugs in schools and colleges, but also to run media campaigns and conduct plays with the underlying theme on the consequences of drug consumption. As a result, individuals will be aware of the dangers of drugs. Another reason associated with escalation of taking drugs is improper parental guidance and negligence on their own part to monitor their children and set a proper example.In certain families taking illegal substance is taken casually and is also promoted by the parents as they themselves might be addicted to the substance. Other times, when a certain medicine is precribed to a child by the doctor for an ailment, the child might develop an addiction to the medicine due to overdosage by the parent. One solution to this issue, could be that adults who are addicts, must check themselves into an rehabilitaion center. Hence, they can be flushed out of drug abuse and could set the right example for their children. In conclusion, drugs are taken by the youth due to being influenced by the actions of the people around them. I believe that, it is the responsibility of the society to voluntarily make efforts in order to rid themselves of the disease of drugs.